1. Recount for NC Supreme Court Chief Justice Seat 1

    Notice is hereby given pursuant to G.S. 163-182.7, the Iredell County Board of Elections office will conduct a recount of the NC Supreme Court Chief Justice Seat 1 between Cheri Beasley (Democrat) and Paul Newby (Republican). Read on...
View All


The Board of Elections is responsible for supervising voter registration and conducting all elections held within Iredell County. Its functions include: 

  • Appointing election officials
  • Establishing election precincts
  • Hearing appeals
  • Investigating voter irregularities

   Board Members

  • Alan G. Carpenter, Chairman
  • Lelia W. Leverette, Secretary
  • Christopher A. "Chris" Carney
  • James A. "Jim" Dobson
  • Matthew Benton


The Board of Elections meets for regular scheduled meetings on the first Tuesday of each month (if there is business to conduct) at 1:15 pm at the Board of Elections Office. 
Board Meeting Information